National Leadership

National Overseer (Administrative Bishop) Bishop Moses A. Johnson

Moses J (1) Bishop Moses A. Johnson  Profile

Moses Alec Johnson Sr. was born on 26th December 1959 to the late Hasting and Linnar Johnson of The Bluff, Eleuthera.  He received his early education at The Bluff Public School and Wentworth Primary in Eleuthera.  He attended the H. O. Nash Junior High School and C.C. Sweeting Senior High School in Nassau.  He then went on to attend Evans Barr Memorial Bible School, The Caribbean Community Ministerial Academy, Theological Seminary and the College of the Bahamas.  Bishop Moses has a Bachelors Degree in Theology, Masters Degree in Theology, Holds a Certificate in Youth Work; he also has a Degree in Social Work from the College of The Bahamas and also obtained a Teachers Association Certificate. Bishop Moses has worked as a Chief Darkroom Technician and Photo Journalist at the Nassau Daily Tribune from 1977 to 1984.  He then went to work at the Boys Industrial School now the Simpson Penn Center for Boys 1984 to 1998. and served as the Youth Pastor for sixteen (16) years at the Church of God Cathedral, East Street.

Moses Johnson is married Cynthia nee Cooper, a retired Nursing Officer at the Ministry of Health.  The couple has three (3) children, Moses Jr. Mauricio and Marisha 2 Daughter-in-law Tianya and Shakara and three (4) grand-children Moniya, Sinaya, Samaya and Sean.

He was converted very early in life as a youth in 1969 and joined the Church of God at East Street Cathedral.  He believes in excellence and encourages them to be the best that they can, to have a positive attitude about life. In 1986 he completed his Ministerial Internship Program and was appointed an Exhorter in 1988. He was appointed an Ordained Minister of the Church of God in 1989 and ordained a Bishop in the Church of God in 1995.  He was also elected that year to the National Council of the Church of God. In 2001 he was elected to the Executive Committee as National Treasurer after the removal of both Bishop Humes and Bishop Donnie Storr by the Administrative Bishop.

In 2003 he was appointed and installed as the Senior Pastor of the Church of God Cathedral after the retirement of Bishop H. M. Pinder. He was also appointed a Justice of The Peace. In 2004 he was appointed Chairman of the Church of God Strategic Plan called VISION 2009. In 2011, he was appointed National Secretary of the Church of God and is serving on numerous Boards and Committees. On October 17, he was elected Administrative Bishop Elect for The Church of God in The Bahamas during the process conducted by Bishop Ishmael Charles, the Caribbean Field Director. He will be officially appointed to that post in August 2014 at the International General Assembly of the Church of God replacing Bishop John N. Humes.

He was honored by the Ministry of Youth in 1991.  He visited China as an ambassador in 1992 on behalf of the Bahamas Government. He is also an Executive of the Bahamas Christian Council, Director of Bahamas Pentecostal Fellowship and he works with the Farm Road Urban Renewal Project.

Moses A. Johnson was elected as the Administrative Bishop/National Overseer during the Church of God National Leaders and Ministers Conference in November 2013. He was officially appointed during the International General Assembly held Orlando, Fla in August 2014. On Sunday, September 14, 2014 he was official installed by our Caribbean Field Director, Bishop Ishmael Charles.

Moses Johnson is a very talented and versatile individual.  Apart from being a devoted man of God, Husband and father.  He also enjoys working with people, spreading the gospel and motivating others to identify their purpose in life and maximizing their potential.



 National Women’s Ministries President  Min. Cynthia Johnson

Cynthia J




National Treasurer – Bishop Leslie Woodside

Leslie Woodside 1 (1)

Rev. Dr. Leslie Rosewell Woodside, J.P., former District Overseer and Pastor of the Fairfield Church of God stands amongst a distinguished group of ministers of great spiritual magnitude who have given spiritual enlightenment to many, both near and far over the years.

The third child born to Yorick and Sylvia Woodside (both deceased) of Mastic Point, Andros, Bishop Woodside received his early education at the Nicholls Town All Age School in Andros, St. Joseph Catholic School in Nassau and St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School in Hunters, Grand Bahama.  He later pursued executive management courses to enhance his skills at the Sylvia Guild Training College in Grand Bahama.

He is   passionate about ministry for the last 33 years and has served with dignity along with his devoted wife (Agnes) who has faithfully ministered side by side with him.

National Secretary- Bishop Carlton J. Stuart

Carlton Stuart 1 (2)Bishop Stuart was born on the 17th February 1954, to the parentage of the late Deacon Bertram and Lela Stuart.  He received his early education at Long Bay Cays, Cedar Harbour, Lovely Bay and Coopers Town All-Age Schools.

He later attended the Bahamas Teachers College where he obtained his teaching certificate; he furthered his studies at Nova South-Eastern University where he obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education.  His teaching career began in 1971 at Long Bay Cays All-Age School, he has also taught in several schools in New Providence before being transferred to the Family Island where he served as Principal from 1978-1987. On returning to New Providence he served as Head of Department at D. W, Davis Senior High School from 1992 – 2003.

He was one of the original staff members of the Church of God Academy where he served as its first Dean for three years.  Bishop Stuart is the pioneering pastor of Lighthouse Fellowship COG. He served as District Secretary for Central New Providence for six years and currently serves as District Overseer.

In 1993 he graduate from Ministerial Internship Program of the Church of God and in 2006 he graduated from Evans-Barr Memorial Bible School having completed the C I M S Program. He holds an Honorary Doctor of Divinity Degree from Virginia Seminary of Christian Education.

Bishop Stuart is married to the beautiful Genesta Miller and is the proud father of two sons, Carlton Jr. and Garrison; two daughters Kendra and Qutell; five grand children Daunte, Jailen, Gabrielle, Taveres and Caleb, daughter-in-law Deseree; sons-in-law Travis Donald and Dr. Gerrad Deveaux.

National Youth Director – Rev.  Tavares A. Johnson

Tavares A. Johnson



National Lifebuilders President

The National Council

Victor BurrowsFormer Education Director
Anthony Campbell of Dundas Town, Abaco
Austraham Hamilton of Grand Turk, TCI
Victor Johnson of New Dimension Ministries, NP
Carl D. Lafrenier of Greater Chippingham, NP

Kirk Smith of  Vision of Hope, NP

Johnny Lowe of Green Turtle Cay, Abaco
Philemon Wilson     of Faith Temple, NP
Carlton Stuart of Lighthouse Fellowship, NP
Edmond Ellis of United COG, Bimini






























































Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>